Trigger Warning: The Reader Tries Not to Roast in This One

2023 Reading Chronicles Book #9 - ”the princess saves herself in this one”

Danny Twoguns
5 min readFeb 6, 2023
Photo by Author

Just kidding, there’s no actual trigger warning…

Part of my 2023 reading aspirations were to read more poetry than last year as well as put a bigger dent in my TBR (to be read) list.

And the start to the poetry-TBR dent did not go well.

Systematically Random

In 2021, I started a trend where I bought and read books from authors I hadn’t read previously simply because the title was a standout level of catchy or “scroll-stopping” and with no further information.

This led to some great reads such as “The Wreckage of My Presence” by Casey Wilson, “A Very Punchable Face” by Colin Jost, and “Apparently, There Were Complaints” by Sharon Gless, amongst others.

As well as the introduction to authors who have since become favorites including “The Least of My Scars” by Stephen Graham Jones and “Recollections of My Non-Existence” by Rebecca Solnit.

One of those buys in 2021 was “the princess saves herself in this one” by Amanda Lovelace, which the most redeeming quality is apparently its title.

--

--

Danny Twoguns

Dad of 4 under 7. Gym owner. Reading and Continuing Education Nerdy Nerd. Digital Marketing Agency owner. Helping the helpers.